sp_TopicIcon
NOVEMBER 2015
RSS
Lark
Wisconsin zone 4/5
2282 Posts
(Offline)
November 1, 2015 - 7:00 am

I am still doing cleanup in the gardens.  Leaves are covering the gardens quickly.  The much needed rain has brought a lot of them down.  Yes, they mat on the garden, but the perennials push through. They eventually decompose and feed the soil. 

We have had only a few days of frost or freeze.  I am still harvesting greens and herbs. 

Dousman, Wisconsin, zone 5

CarolJean
central Wisconsin
99 Posts
(Offline)
November 3, 2015 - 11:06 am

Good morning Lark,  Thank you for your posts and videos; I always enjoy them.

I finally have all the new bulbs in the ground.  I still have tulips I want to plant in 2 large pots and try to overwinter in my front porch for spring color.  So I'm just getting started at cutting down and cleaning up my beds, so I appreciate the mild weather we are having.  I don't do fall veggie gardening yet but hope to improve on that.  It turns out I still have kale, broccoli, carrots, & kohlrabi coming out of the garden.

I have a question for you Lark.  I planted blue lobelia because I love the plant in your gardens. I let it go to seed last fall in hopes of it reseeding and getting volunteers this year.  So I allowed lots of little plants to grow this season (I have other plants I want to reseed - nigella, foxglove, sea holly,larkspur, coneflower).  My problem is I'm not sure what blue lobelia seedlings look like.  I'm including a photo I took of the seedlings I suspect are the lobelia, can you tell me if they are lobelia?

Also I love your repurpose of the canopy frame.  It makes a great garden entry.  I can't wait to see it covered in blooms.

Thanks for your help.  Carol Jean

ps I was not able to attach a photo; it is too large.  I will have to have my son help me reduce its size.

CarolJean
central Wisconsin
99 Posts
(Offline)
November 3, 2015 - 10:08 pm

new-version-3.jpgImage Enlarger

Lark
Wisconsin zone 4/5
2282 Posts
(Offline)